Who can enter

Banking Technology Awards are open to banks and financial institutions as well as relevant third parties (see below for details) worldwide – i.e. for projects, implementations, partnerships and other initiatives at/by these institutions. These are for projects that might involve in-house built technology or third party solutions. The Awards entrants, winners and highly commended are banks and financial institutions (rather than solely tech vendors).

Of course, wherever applicable, vendors and their products/input will be named and commended, and vendors are very welcome to attend the Awards ceremony. PR agencies, consultants, vendors and other industry participants can put an entry in on behalf of, or together with, a bank or financial institution but must have prior approval from them.

Anybody may enter the FinTech for Good (part of Judged Awards) and Leadership Awards, whether they are from a vendor, bank or financial institution.

No off-the-record/unnamed entries will be considered (but if you apply, you will still be charged).

Ovum Technology Innovation Awards (part of Banking Technology Awards, launched together with Ovum) are open for tech developers, vendors, integrators or consultancy firms from across the globe.

Multiple entries

More than one category may be entered for the same project/person/team.



Submitting an entry

  • All entries must be written in English and submitted via our online form.
  • All entries should be no longer than 1,000 words.
  • Supporting material may be supplied, but your main entry of up to 1,000 words should include all information you deem necessary for your awards entry.
  • The chairperson of the judging panel reserves the right to cast any deciding vote should the need arise.
  • The verdict of the judging panel is final.
  • Entering the awards requires a payment (where applicable), this payment is for nomination and is due regardless whether the project makes to the shortlist or not.

What information to submit

First and foremost, winning entries will be exceptional in their success. Innovative solutions to problems being faced in the industry are favoured, and presenting tangible evidence of how the solution yielded financial/social/performance/etc gain is even better. All of our award winners, historically, have raised the bar and helped shape the future direction of the industry. So the more detail you submit the better!

We suggest including the following information:

  • Dates of the overall project. All entries should be for the period of the last two years.
  • The unique points of the project. What makes it different?
  • Rationale for the project. Why was it undertaken, what were the reasons, drivers, pain points you needed to address?
  • Results and performance metrics. What were the results? What benefits did the project bring and how were they measured?
  • Project management; team size and mix; collaboration. How many people took part? What teams were involved? How were the responsibilities and tasks shared? How was the project managed and successful teamwork encouraged?
  • Financial impact; return on investment (if applicable).
  • Any other information, statistics, facts and figures etc that you think will help us understand the project better!

We suggest avoiding submitting the following:

  • Marketing jargon and buzzwords
  • Generic promotional material and sales brochures

Entries deadline

The deadline to enter this year’s Banking Technology Awards has been extended until 13th September 2019.


We reserve the right to publish brief details of all shortlisted entries. This is an up to 100 words “entry synopsis” that is included on all entry forms.

All other information provided in the entry is treated in strictest confidence.

Please note that no off-the-record/unnamed entries will be considered. The judging process All qualifying entries are examined, discussed and voted on by the Banking Technology Awards judges.

To ensure the process is completely unbiased and objective, judges are not allowed to comment on, or vote for, entries from their own institutions.

Awards presentation

The shortlists for all categories will be announced in October 2019.

Banking Technology Awards 2019 will culminate in a fabulous gala black-tie dinner and the awards ceremony on 5 December 2019 at a 5-star London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square.

Booking a table

We hope you would like to take part in the celebrations in 2019! Click here for more details.

Sponsors and partners

We are calling on the industry participants to become a sponsor or partner with us for the awards. Click here for more details.

Entry fee and payment

Banking Technology Awards 2019 pricing*: £251.90

*All prices are subject to +20% UK VAT, where applicable

The above prices are applicable for each entry per category. So, if you apply for two categories, it will be £251.90 x 2, for three categories – £251.90 x 3 and so on.

The fee is for processing the nominations and is due regardless of whether the nomination made it to the shortlist or not. The exceptions in 2019 are the Woman In Technology (W.I.T.) Award, Rising Tech Star Award and the Tech Leadership Award, which are free to enter.

Data protection

The personal information that you provide to us will be held on a database. For more information on how the company uses the information you provide please see our privacy policy.


If you would you like to be added to our notification list regarding the awards, please fill out this brief form: